

Harness Policies | Driver Series Policy

HPOL0069

1. The Series

- 1.1 For the Bullock Consulting Youngbloods, ten (10) young drivers aged less than 23 years of age at the start of the current season will compete in a series of six (6) heats at Devonport, Launceston and Hobart.
- 1.2 For the BOTRA Claiming Novice Driver Series, ten Claiming Novice Drivers will compete in a series of six (6) heats at Devonport, Launceston and Hobart.
- 1.2 All heats will be PENALTY FREE, meaning winning horses will not take a career penalty for winning.
- 1.3 Drivers fees are payable to drivers competing in the series.

2. Selection and Eligibility of Drivers

- 2.1 The selected drivers will be chosen using the following criteria:
 - a) For the Bullock Consulting Youngbloods, drivers must be less than 23 years of age at the start of the current racing season.
 - b) For the BOTRA Claiming Novice Drivers Series, drivers must fulfil all Claiming Novice Driver conditions 28 days prior to the first heat of the series.
 - c) The top five (5) drivers, subject to clause a) or b), on the prior harness racing season Tasmanian Junior Drivers Premiership will gain automatic selection.
 - d) The remaining five (5) drivers, subject to clause a) or b), will be selected from those that have driven the most winners in the current Tasmanian harness racing season, 28 days prior to the first heat of the series.
 - e) Should two (2) or more drivers qualify for the last position in the series, the final driver selected will be the one with the best percentage of winners to starters.
 - f) The driver ranked 11th shall be the standby driver for the series.
 - g) The standby driver shall be in attendance on each night the heats are run in case a driver is not able to fulfil their engagement. Should the standby driver not drive in a race they shall receive \$50 per meeting for being in attendance.
- 2.2 Drivers unable to contest a series should advise the Tasracing Code Development Manager Harness no later than 28 days prior to the first heat of the series.



Harness Policies | Driver Series Policy

HPOL0069

3. Series Conditions

- 3.1 All races will be mobile starts.
- 3.2 Points will be 16 for a win, 12 for second, nine for third, seven for fourth, and then a reduction of one point for each subsequent placegetter down to one point for tenth.
- 3.3 The driver will not receive any points if the horse does not complete the course.
- In the event of a dead heat for any placing in any race, the points for the horses involved in the dead heat will be added together and divided equally.
- 3.5 If any driver is unavailable through injury, illness or suspension or any other reason during any part of the series, he or she will be replaced by the emergency driver listed, that replaced driver will not receive any points for the missed drives.
- 3.6 Any driver whose horse is scratched from any particular heat will take the drive on the declared emergency.
- In the event of a second or late scratching, affected drivers will receive 6 points, being the same as allocated to a driver finishing in fifth position.
- 3.8 Rotated barrier draws, similar to the system used for the Australasian Young Drivers Championship, will apply. Drivers will be grouped and randomly allocated a barrier draw from the barrier positions available for the group.

Race 1	(1, 2) (A, B)	(3, 4) (C, D)	(5, 6) (E, F)	(7, 8) (G, H)	(9, 10) (I, J)
Race 2	(1, 2) (G, H)		(5, 6) (A, B)		(9, 10) (E, F)
Race 3		(3, 4) (E, F)	(5, 6) (G, H)		(9, 10) (A, B)
Race 4	(1, 2) (I, J)	(3, 4) (A, B)	(5, 6) (C, D)	• •	(9, 10) (G, H)
Race 5	(1, 2) (E, F)	(3, 4) (G, H)	(5, 6) (I, J)	(7, 8) (A, B)	(9, 10) (C, D)

Race 6 Random Barrier Draw

3.9. Any matters not covered in these conditions shall be referred to Tasracing for decision.