Queenslander wins Australian Driving Championship

Monday 16 November 2015

STAR Queensland reinsman Grant Dixon delivered a couple of career best drives to emerge from the harness meeting in Launceston last night as the winner of the Sky Racing Australian Driving Championships.

Dixon accrued 71 points from his six drives to take the 2015 Australian Driving Championship title from South Australia’s Danielle Hill with 58 and Robert Morris (NSW) and Queensland’s Shane Graham equal third on 47 points.

Dixon was thrilled with the win and said it was a privilege to take out the title.

“This is a great series and to win it is a real bonus because it is just an honour to represent your state and be amongst such a great group of drivers,” Dixon said.

“When it is a random draw for drives there is an element of luck involved and tonight I had some luck,” he said.

Dixon won the first heat when he brought Olivers Mate from near last leaving the back straight the last time to score in a three-way photo finish from the favourite Kyleasha and Grinable, driven by Victorian Gavin Lang.

After two heats Dixon led with 28 points from Lewis and Panela on 25 with Gavin Lang within striking distance on 19.

Ace NSW reinsman Robert Morris delivered his first winner of the night when he guided the Todd Rattray-trained The Bettormack to an effortless win in the fourth heat.

The Bettormack went into the race a winner of three of his first four starts in the state and the four-year-old made light of his task to give Morris maximum points.

The series was decided on a point-score basis with 19 points awarded for first; 14 for second; 11 for third; nine for fourth and reducing by one through to last in the 12-horse fields.

Dixon clinched the title when he partnered Stingofascorpion into second place behind Fundamentalist in the last heat to finish with 71 points and a clear winner from Hill who had her drive in the final heat deemed a non-starter due to an unfair start leaving her on 58 points with Queensland’s Shane Graham and Robert Morris (NSW) equal third on 47.