Board of Directors

The Tasracing Board consists of seven members made up of a Chair and six directors one of whom is Vice Chairman.

The make-up of the board comprises one person with experience in the thoroughbred, harness and greyhound racing codes.

The Board of Tasracing comprises directors with the appropriate range of skills, experience, qualifications, expertise and vision to govern the company.

Gene Phair


Mr Phair joined the Tasracing Board as Chairman on 22 November 2018.

Mr Phair is a Fellow of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He was a long-standing Board Member of the National Heart Foundation of Australia (Tasmanian Division) and Chairman and Board Member of The Hutchins School.

Steve Old


Mr Old joined the Board in December 2022.

Mr Old is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Tasmanian Hospitality Association and has been for over 16 years, representing the interests of hotels, pubs, accommodation venues, cafes, and restaurants as well as sporting, RSL and community clubs.

He is a highly experienced non-executive director. His current board positions include the Tasmania Jackjumpers in the National Basketball League (NBL).

Mr Old formerly worked as a Chief of Staff and Racing adviser from 2000 – 2007 and has held numerous Chair and board roles within sporting organisations in Tasmania.

He is a current member of the Carbine Club of Tasmania and a member of the AICD.


David Garnier

Mr Garnier is an experienced business executive and board representative, with experience spanning over 30 years across technology, banking, telecommunications, gaming and wagering, agriculture and media sectors. These roles include board and senior operational roles in Australasia, Hong Kong and China. In addition to executive and leadership roles in listed companies, he has been responsible for organisational change, capital raisings, M&A operations and business strategy.

Since returning to Australia in 2015 Mr Garnier has focussed predominantly on strategic consulting in digital markets and managing capital raisings for strategic clients. Current business relationships include being Alibaba’s Alipay Marketing Partner in Australia and New Zealand via the platform which his company, New Wave, established in 2017.

Kelly Walker

Mrs Walker joined the Board in November 2023.

Mrs Walker is a finance professional with a strong background in ICT and cyber security. She is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mrs Walker has previously held senior positions at KPMG, Alinta Energy and 42-24, a subsidiary of Tas Networks.

Michael Gordon

Mr Gordon joined the Board in 2017.

A Director of PDF Management Services, a management consulting firm based in Hobart, he has a broad and diverse career, across the training, employment and youth sectors, 14 years with fire services in Tasmania and South Australia and as a small business owner and operator

Mr Gordon has bred, owned and raced greyhounds. He also has a long-standing association with the Harness and Thoroughbred codes, both as a participant and committee member.

He holds a Bachelor of Business from the University of South Australia.

Neil Grose

Mr Grose joined the Board in November 2021.

He has a diverse business experience across tourism, journalism, publishing, education, local government and regional economic development and is currently the Bell Bay Hydrogen Cluster Manager responsible for the regional economic development of local Tasmanian businesses as a key part of the emerging global green hydrogen industry.

He is a member of the Boards of Harness Racing Australia and Rise Racing Australia representing Tasracing.

Mr Grose holds two degrees in fine art and education and is a member of the AICD.

Suzie Jacobson

Ms Jacobson joined the Board in 2022.

Ms Jacobson is a communications professional with more than 30 years of experience in media management, marketing and strategic planning.

A former journalist, she has a comprehensive understanding of Government processes and good networks among all tiers of Government, media and private industry in Tasmania.

Ms Jacobson has a strong understanding of corporate governance, with over 10 years of experience on not-for-profit boards and extensive involvement in and chairing high-level committees and meetings.

Ms Jacobson has a long-standing interest in thoroughbred racing in Tasmania, is a racehorse owner and has been a committee member at the Tasmanian Racing Club (TRC) for the past four year