Chief Jetpilot named 2016 Tasmanian Greyhound of the year

Tuesday 14 February 2017

Chief Jetpilot has been named the 2016 Tasmanian Greyhound of the Year.

Tasmania’s major greyhound award was announced at the A Total Car Rentals Launceston Cup and Greyhound Annual Awards Presentation Dinner at The Luxbet Racing Centre last night (11 February).

The awards are hosted by the Launceston Greyhound Racing Club in partnership with Tasracing.

Chief Jetpilot won 14 races and was placed 20 times from 38 starts in 2016 – all in Tasmania – being unplaced on only four occasions.

Chief Jetpilot is owned by John Tindall of Annandale in NSW, and is trained by Ted Medhurst at his Mangalore kennels.


Other award recipients were as follows:

Leading TrainerAnthony Bullock (168 winners).

Leading Owner – Debbie Cannan (58 winners).

Most Consistent Greyhound – Chief Jetpilot (14 wins, 13 seconds and seven thirds from 38 starts)

Leading Breeding Female – Miss Roman Nose (Owned by Terry & Betty Penny.  Miss Roman Nose’s progeny won 60 races).

Leading Sire – Collision (Owned by Tony Lockett in NSW.  Collision’s progeny won 125 races in Tasmania).