Who will be the Tasmanian Racehorse of the Year for the 2016/17 season?

Wednesday 30 August 2017

In what promises to be one of the closest votes in many years, there are three leading contenders.

Count da Vinci, Hellova Street and Tshahitsi.

All three have had outstanding seasons and any of them would be a worthy winner.

Count Da Vinci started as a class one galloper and progressed to a Hobart Cup win, Hellova Street won the Thomas Lyons and Mowbray Stakes while Tshahitsi won the Newmarket Hcp and then went to Melbourne winning three times, including the Listed Winter Championship at Flemington.

The Two and Three Year Old awards look a little easier to predict with Pateena Arena (2yo) and Hot Dipped (3yo) clear favourites in their respective categories.

All will be revealed at the Tasmanian Thoroughbred Awards Dinner at the Country Club Casino, Launceston, this Friday night.

One what promises to be a gala occasion for the Racing industry, other  awards to be presented include, the Trainers  and Jockeys premiership winners, Tasbreeders awards, Owners awards and Hall Of Fame inductions which will see a previous inductee elevated to Legend status.

Scott Brunton will take home his third consecutive trainers award with 96 winners for the season, a new Tasmanian record, David Pires who rode 80 winners, will also collect a third jockeys title in a row while Raquel Clark was the leading apprentice for the second year running, with 31 winners.