Hellova Street wins Magic Millions Horse of the Year

Friday 1 September 2017

The Scott Brunton-trained Hellova Street – which won the Thomas Lyons Stakes, the Mowbray Stakes and the VRC March Stakes at Flemington – has won the Magic Millions Horse of the Year award.

The prestigious prize was announced at the Tasmanian Thoroughbred Awards dinner at Country Club Tasmania in Launceston tonight (1 September) in front of more than 160 guests.

In other awards, Pateena Arena (three wins from five starts) was named the Tasmanian Turf Club 2YO Horse of the Year and Hot Dipped (eight wins from 13 starts) won the Devonport Racing Club 3YO Horse of the Year prize.

Tasmanian Hall of Fame inductees were horses Aliocha and The Cleaner, jockey Ray Bean, trainer Joseph Powell and the associates were Neil Herbert and Darrel Baldock.

The one Legend inducted on the night was Brallos, which won the Hobart Cup – Launceston Cup double in 1976 and 1977.

Paul and Elizabeth Geard won the ROAT Leading Owner Award for the seventh consecutive year.

Jockey David Pires won his third Tasracing Leading Jockey Award with 80 wins, while Raquel Clark won her second Skillinvest Leading Apprentice award with 31 wins.

Irish-born apprentice Chris Graham won the Tasmanian Jockeys’ Association ‘Dux of the Apprentice School for 2016/17.

Scott Brunton was the Australian Trainers Association Leading Trainer (96 winners) for the fourth year in a row.

Wordsmith was named the Tasbreeders Leading Tasmanian-based Juvenile Stallion for the fourth connective season, and was also named the Leading Tasmanian-based Sire.

The Tasmanian Horse Transport Broodmare of the Year was Palatine Hill, mother of dual Group 1 winner Palentino, and Hot Dipped won the Armidale Stud “Alpine Eagle” Leading Race filly or Mare award.