Winx wins Australian Racehorse of the Year again

Friday 11 October 2019

Champion mare Winx has been named the Sky Racing Australian Racehorse of the Year for the fourth year in succession.

Announced in Hobart tonight (10 October 2019), Winx also won the award for Australia’s best middle-distance racehorse for season 2018-19.

It was an appropriate end to the mare’s racing career when she bowed out after winning the Queen Elizabeth Stakes to register a world record 25th Group 1.

The mare’s managing part-owner, Peter Tighe, was in Tasmania to accept the award at the gala event at Mac 02 on Hobart’s waterfront.

It was the first time Tasmania has hosted the prestigious national awards.

Other winners were Sunlight, named Australia’s best 3YO filly, while the THA Champion 3YO colt or gelding category was won by The Autumn Sun that won three times at Group 1 level.

Last year’s Melbourne Cup winner, Cross Counter, was named best stayer and Zed Em collected the best jumper award.

The internationally acclaimed Santa Ana Lane was awarded the best sprinter title and  Sires Produce Stakes winner Microphone was named Australia’s best 2YO.

Snitzel was named Prime Thoroughbreds Champion Sire of the Year for 2018-19, with his progeny amassing 180 winners for stake earnings in excess of $24 million.

Winx’s trainer Chris Waller was named Australian trainer of the year and the mare’s regular rider, Hugh Bowman, was named Champion Group 1 jockey.