Sarah O’Reilly wins 2019 AYDC

Monday 16 December 2019

New Zealander Sarah O’Reilly emerged victorious in the 2019 Hanley Formula Australasian Young Drivers Championship after the final heat was run and won at Alexandra Park on Friday night.

It was a combination of relief and excitement for Sarah following the race, ‘‘I was relieved that I crossed the finish line in the last race because I knew I had won the series. I just wanted to drive the best I could in the series and get one winner and have fun.’’

O’Reilly led the series by eleven points over NSW representative Cameron Hart leading into the tenth and final heat and only a win or second from Hart would have caused an upset victory.

It was not to be for Hart with his drive Johnny Mac finishing 6th, one position behind O’Reilly’s drive, M T Pockets. The race was won in great fashion by The Paua Diver for Sheree Tomlinson for trainers Josh and John Dickie over Dina Brown for South Australian, Brodie Webster and Pekeson for the Tasmanian representative, Conor Crook.

Sarah’s victory in the 2019 AYDC was a result of brilliant and consistent driving for the entire series. Her two wins and four second placings from her ten drives earned her a total of 101 points, 12 points in front of Cameron Hart who won three races, and third was kiwi Sheree Tomlinson who finished with 68 points.

Final 2019 AYDC Points Score:


Sarah O’Reilly (NZ) 101
Cam Hart (NSW) 89
Sheree Tomlinson (NZ) 68
Corey Peterson (WA) 65
Matt Elkins (QLD) 64
John Morrison (SI, NZ) 60
Benjamin Butcher (NI, NZ) 57
Brodie Webster (SA) 49
Zac Phillips (VIC) 46
Conor Crook (TAS) 42