Greyhound of the Year finalists announced

Thursday 28 January 2021

Tasracing, in conjunction with the Greyhound of the Year Selection Panel, has announced the final three contenders for the Tasmanian Greyhound of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced at the Tasmanian Greyhound of the Year Awards and Ladbrokes Launceston Cup Finalists Dinner at the Ladbrokes Racing Centre, Launceston on Saturday 13 February 2021.

The finalists, in alphabetical order, are Handsome Prince, Wynburn Lethal and Wynburn Sheean.

A summary of the achievements of the three finalists are as follows:


He is a brindle dog whelped in May 2018 by SH Avatar from See Blue’s Girl and was owned and trained in Tasmania by Patrick Ryan until September 2020. He is now owned by Shakeel Latimer and trained by Peter Lagogiane at Llandilo in New South Wales.

Handsome Prince’s Tasmanian record was 14 starts for six wins, three seconds and three thirds, and in NSW and Victoria, he had six starts for three wins, one second and two fourths.

In Tasmania his performances included:

  • Third in both his heat and semi-final of the 2020 Hobart Maiden Thousand.
  • Won a qualifying heat, was second in the Semi and finished third in the Final of the Launceston Breeders Classic.
  • Won his heat and fifth in the Final of the inaugural Shane Yates Memorial Cup.
  • Second in an Illingworth Classic Heat but was scratched from the final due to injury.

In New South Wales and Victoria:

  • Second in the Regional Heat and fourth in the Regional Final of the 2020 Million Dollar Chase at Richmond.
  • Won Million Dollar Chase City Qualifier at Wentworth Park.
  • Won a Semi-Final of the Million Dollar Chase at Wentworth Park.
  • Won the Final of the Million Dollar Chase, the world’s richest race, starting from box seven.
  • Fourth in Heat of 2020 Melbourne Cup.

Winning the Million Dollar Chase sees Handsome Prince with an impressive $1,026, 898 in lifetime earnings.


She is a fawn bitch whelped in February 2018 by Dyna Double One from Wynburn Arrow and is owned by Matt Carrolan and Leah Englund and is trained by Ben Englund at Wynyard.

She won 13 races and ran five placings from 29 starts in 2020.

Her major wins include:

  • Breeders Classic Final at Devonport.
  • Heat of the Ladbrokes Launceston Cup.
  • Heat and Final of the inaugural Shane Yates Memorial Cup at Launceston.
  • Heat and Final of the Illingworth Classic at Launceston
  • Won at Sandown (Melbourne) in 29.71.
  • Tasmanian Oaks at Launceston.
  • Heat of the Group One Ladbrokes Hobart Thousand.

She also contested the Murray Bridge Cup in South Australia where she run second in her heat and fourth in the final.


He is a black dog whelped in October 2018 by Aston Dee Bee from She’s All Class and is owned by the Wynburn Racing Syndicate which is managed by Tom Englund and is trained by Ben Englund at Wynyard.

He won 11 races and ran three placings from 15 starts in 2020, being unplaced only when finishing fourth in the Group One Hobart Thousand Final.

His major wins include:

  • Qualifying heat and Semi-Final of the Devonport Breeders Classic.
  • Heat and Final of Johnson Puppy Championship at Devonport.
  • Heat and Final of the Group Three Ladbrokes Devonport Chase.
  • Heat of the Group One Ladbrokes Hobart Thousand.

He also finished third in the Devonport Breeders Classic Final, a half head second in the St. Leger at Hobart and, as mentioned, fourth in the Hobart Thousand behind Tommy Shelby at only his 15th start.