Who will be crowned Tasmania’s best pacer for 2019-2020 season?

Thursday 11 February 2021

Ryley Major kicked off the season in fine style winning the Group 2 Tasmania Cup and Group 3 Tassie Golden Apple, while Ignatius tasted success on multiple occasions at Menangle early in the season before returning to Tasmania later in the year to win a further three races including the Danbury Park Cup, while The Shallows rose though the grades and ended his season by winning the Show Cup and the second running of the Group 3 Tassie Golden Apple in the season.

All winners will be announced at the annual awards night at Launceson’s Hotel Grand Chancellor on Saturday, 6 March, and the event will also include the announcement of the latest Edgar Tatlow Medal recipient and the latest inductions into the Tasmanian Harness Racing Hall of Fame.

The 2YO colts and geldings title looks to be a very open affair with Dandy Patch winner Agouda Ruler and Sweepstakes winner Rocknovertime, who was also placed in the Dandy Patch are two of the main contenders.

Even the 3YO colts and geldings title could be a close tussle between Tasmanian Derby winner and Globe Derby Stakes heat winner Micton Mouse up against Globe Derby Final winner Kohanah.

Still Hungover took out last seasons 3YO Fillies title and after scoring in the Granny Smith Final at Group 2 level this season she will be chasing the Mare of the year award against a very even bunch.

The Broodmare Of The Year title looks a very even contest with Shez Ryleymak, Tania Maree and Soho Summer being the leading contenders.

Tickets are available at a cost of $90 per person that includes a three-course buffet meal and complimentary drink on arrival.

Bookings can be made by contacting Tasracing’s Angela Barrett on 03 6212 9307 or Shiralee Maher on 03 6212 9306.