Drivers selected for upcoming Novice Drivers Series

Tuesday 26 March 2024

Tasracing is delighted to announce that drivers have been selected for the upcoming Novice Driver series and will do so with BOTRA who have come back on board as naming rights partner.

The Tasmanian Trotting Club meeting in Hobart will hold the four heat challenge on Sunday, 14 April.

The series, which sees 10 of the state’s best up-and-coming drivers participate in the four-race series, determines the overall winner by points accumulated in heats.

Ten drivers were selected as per Tasracing policy for the series, and they are:

  • Charlie Castles
  • Lachlan Dakin
  • Brodie Davis
  • Jacob Duggan
  • Andrew Freeman
  • Tiarna Ford
  • Malcom Jones
  • Jack Watson
  • Olivia Weidenbach
  • Kayleb Williams.

The emergency is Jakob White.

The Novice Drivers Series was introduced onto the Tasmanian racing calendar in 2012 to give young participants further opportunities to begin their journey into the harness racing industry.

Owners and trainers are reminded that all races are ratings-exempt races with the full race program for the heats available here. (