Harness Programming Update

Thursday 16 May 2024

Tasracing are continuing to work on providing the harness industry with fair and competitive racing. For the near future programs will continue to be released on a monthly basis. Copies of monthly programs will be available at the Hobart and Launceston raceday offices. These will also be available via the Tasracing Corporate website along with the Feature Race calendar.

At the recent programming sub-committee meeting it was agreed that Trainer Encouragement Races would be removed from programs ongoing.

The July programs are available here

The 2024/25 race dates are set for approval by the Tasracing Board at the end of May. After this time the 2024/25 Feature Race calendar will be finalised and published on the Tasracing Corporate website.

The Eureka / Beautide

The date for the Eureka has been set for Saturday, 7th September at Menangle with minor amendments to the race announced. The race will now be run over the 2300m distance with 5th place receiving an extra $10,000 in prizemoney.

Tasmania’s qualifying race ‘The Beautide’ will be run at Hobart on Saturday 3rd August over 2090m. The race will see a barrier draw change to fall in line with the Eureka (PBD/AGE/SEX). Eligibility conditions will remain the same as in 2023:

The race will be for 3YO and 4YOs only.
The horses must be TASBRED, or
100 per cent owned by a Tasmanian resident/s for no less than 12 months prior to the Eureka race in September and 100 per cent trained by a licensed Tasmanian trainer for no less than six months prior to the Eureka race (March 2024).

The field size will be 10 plus two emergencies.

The winning horse will receive the Tasracing slot.

The Tasracing Eureka Selection Panel (TESP) will be responsible for the selection of the final field of the qualifying race.

The TESP will comprise of the Director of Racing / Chairman of Stewards and Office of Racing Integrity (ORI) staff as determined by the Director of Racing and the Tasracing CEO and Tasracing staff.

The final make-up of the qualifying race field will ultimately be determined by Tasracing in conjunction with ORI to ensure compliance with the Racing Regulation Act.

Nominations for the qualifying race will open at 9:30 am Monday 15 July 2024 and close at 9:30 am on Monday 29 July 2024.

Ange Barrett
Code Lead – Harness
16 May 2024