2018 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge

Tuesday 29 May 2018

Tasracing has selected the 10 participants for the 2018 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge.

The young driver series will be conducted at Devonport on 1 June, Hobart on 3 June and Launceston on 10 June.

The drivers selected are Dylan Ford, Taylor Ford, Samantha Gangell, Matthew Howlett, Braden Howlett, Samantha Freeman, Wade Rattray (emergency), Hannah Van Dongen, Brady Woods, Charlie Castles and Germain Boisrame.

Matthew Howlett has won the series twice before (in 2013 and 201 and a third win would equal the performances of Tammy Mollross (1991-1993) and Nathan Garwood (1999-2001).

Matthew finished second in the 2016/17 Tasmanian Junior Driver’s title following on from his victory in 2015/16.

Jack Laugher, winner of last year’s Youngbloods challenge, currently spends his time between Tasmania and Victoria and was a clear winner of last season’s Junior Driver’s title with 31 wins.

Charlie Castles is in his first season of driving. The 17-year-old Wesley Vale-based driver drove his fist winner on 26 December 2017 in Devonport on the Ben Yole trained Franco Hammond.

Hannah Van dongen is a racing all-rounder sitting in equal first with Natalee Emery in the Tasmanian Female Driver’s premiership and also rides trackwork for gallops trainer Barry Campbell.

Germain Boisrame is the newcomer to the series, only having had a small amount of drives since gaining his Australian Race driver’s licence.

The 21-year-old won eight races in his home country of France and is working in Tasmania for trainer/driver Todd Rattray.

Tasracing chief executive officer Vaughn Lynch said the 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge was the annual showcase for young drivers in Tasmania.

“It is an excellent initiative,” he said.

“The random draw for drives provides an opportunity for the young participants to expand their links with trainers and owners.

“Tasmania has a long history of producing quality young drivers and participation in the 6ty°-sponsored challenge is an important part of their development.”

6ty°’s Chester Bullock said he was proud to be associated with the series.

“It allows our emerging young drivers to compete against each other in quality races,” he said.

“They have earned the right to participate, and with all races being non-penalty for the winning horses, I expect good support for the series from owners and trainers.”

The series will comprise six heats with 10 starters and an emergency.

Rotated barrier draws, similar to the system used for the Australasian Young Driver’s Championship, will apply for the first five heats with a random barrier draw for the sixth.