Drivers announced for the 2022 Cavalor Equicare Claiming Novice Drivers Series

Wednesday 27 April 2022

Article by Duncan Dornauf

Tasracing is proud to announce the drivers for the 2022 Claiming Novice Drivers series in Launceston on Sunday, 15 May, and will do so with a new name.

Cavalor Equicare has jumped on board as the naming rights partner for the series, which sees 10 of the state’s best up and coming drivers take part, with the overall winner determined by points accumulated in the four heats of the series.

Drivers selected for this year’s series as per Tasracing policy, are;

Ryan Backhouse, Charlie Castles, Jordan Chibnall, Jacob Duggan, Mitch Ford, Malcom Jones, Bronte Miller, Liam Older, Hannah Van Dongen and Kayleb Williams.

Tiarna Ford will be the emergency for the series.

The Cavalor Equicare Claiming Novice Drivers Series was introduced onto the Tasmanian racing calendar in 2012 to give further opportunities to young participants commencing their journey into the harness racing industry.

Tasracing’s Chief Operating Officer, Andrew Jenkins said Tasracing was delighted to have Cavalor Equicare on board.

“Cavalor has built an international reputation as the world leader in equine nutrition for high-performance horses, and Tasracing is delighted to welcome them as sponsor of our Novice Driver Series,” he said.

“We have also increased the number of claiming novice driver races from May to two per month in support of encouraging as many young participants as possible to become involved,” added Jenkins.

Trainers and owners are reminded that all heats of the Cavalor Equicare Claiming Novice Drivers Series are national rating exempt for the winner.