National award for Tasmanian thoroughbred employee

Friday 26 May 2023

James Green, of Armidale Stud, has received the Newcomer Award as part of the National Stud and Stable Staff awards announced at the Gold Coast Turf Club this week.

The awards highlight the exceptional contributions of the unsung heroes in the thoroughbred racing and breeding industry.

The accolades not only acknowledge their commitment, passion and contributions but also serve as a reminder for aspiring individuals to embark on a fulfilling career in the racing and breeding industry.

The award, which includes a trophy and $5000, is sponsored by Thoroughbred Industry Careers and Marcus Oldham College.

An award recognises an individual who has worked in the industry, in any capacity, for less than three years.

“The winner will display passion for, pride in and an excellent contribution to the thoroughbred industry,” the criteria says.

“The winner will stand out from other newcomers and will be identified as a future and significant valuable member of this industry.”

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Federal Minister for Skills and Training Brendan O’Connor said; “When the racing stops, the work continues. The love and hard work is something rarely understood by people outside the industry.”

Queensland Racing Minister Grace Grace praised the dedication and devotion displayed by all industry participants and commended the Awards for their national and global significance.

“The Award finalists demonstrate the depth and diversity of the thoroughbred industry, and their hard work and devotion to our horses right across Australia,” she said.


Administration and Ancillary Services Award – Mary O’Neill of Newgate Farm

Dedication to Breeding Award – Kayleigh Walsh of Fernrigg Farm

Dedication to Racing Award – John Brady of Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott Racing

Horsemanship Award – Emile Fredericks of Widden Stud

Leadership Award – Sean Keogh of Godolphin

Newcomer Award – James Green of Armidale Stud

Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award – Louise Abey of Abey Performance Horses

Thoroughbred Excellence Award – John Brady of Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott Racing