Tattsbet Tasmanian Thoroughbred Racing Awards 2013

Thursday 8 August 2013

On Friday the 30th of August 2013 the thoroughbred industry will once again come together for a gala evening to recognise outstanding achievements in the thoroughbred industry for the season 2012/2013.

The highlight of the evening will once again be the naming of the Tattsbet Horse of the Year. This year is an open event, with the likes of Norsqui, Geegees Blackflash, Banca Mo, The Cleaner, and the mare Rebel Bride contesting this prestigious award.

For the second year, the industry will also recognize outstanding achievement in Australian thoroughbred racing, with the Tattsbet Industry Recognition Award. In 2011/12 this was awarded to Tasmanian born jockey Craig Newitt for winning the Australian Jockeys Premiership.

Along with the award winners for 2012/13 season, the Tasmanian Racing Hall of Fame will once again induct those horses and persons recognised as making a major impact and contribution to the Tasmanian racing industry.

The awards night will also include the opportunity to win 2 major prize packages for the Hobart and Launceston Cup events for 2014. The first prize package includes tickets for 2 on the 9th of February 2014 for the Betfair Hobart Cup which includes entry to the course, visiting members pass, and a food and beverage package provided by the Tattersall’s Park Function Centre. As well as tickets for 2 to the Betfair Launceston Cup Corporate marquee on the 27th of February 2014 including entry to the course, 3 course meal and beverages provided by the Tasmanian Turf Club.

Tasmanian TasBreeders Awards

  • Leading Tasmanian-Based Juvenile Stallion Award
  • Leading Tasmanian-Based Sire Award
  • Broodmare of the Year Award
  • Outstanding Racemare or Filly Award

Tasmanian Participant Awards

  • Tattersall’s Park Function Centre Leading Owner Award
  • Tasracing Leading Trainer Award
  • Kevin Sharkie Leading Jockey Award
  • WorkCo Victoria Leading Apprentice Award

Tattsbet Industry Recognition Award

  • For Outstanding Achievement in Australian Thoroughbred Racing sponsored by Tattsbet

Tasmanian Racing Hall of Fame Inductions

Tasmanian Horse of the Year Awards

  • Tasmanian Turf Club 2YO Horse of the Year
  • Tasmanian Racehorse owner Association 3YO Horse of the Year

Tattsbet Horse of the Year Award

Date: Friday the 30 August, 2013

Venue: Country Club Tasmania Launceston

Cost: $65.00 per head (Drink on arrival)

For any enquiries or to book please call Lynn at Tasracing on 6212 9311,

RSVP by the 23rd of August 2013

Tattsbet Tasmanian Thoroughbred Racing Awards 2013 Invitation (PDF)