Drivers announced for 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge

Monday 27 November 2023

The 2023 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge will again see the state’s best young drivers on display on Sunday night.

In a break from tradition all four heats of the series will be held in Launceston on Tassie Golden Apple Final night on Sunday, 3 December.

For the 24th consecutive year, the series will be sponsored by 6ty° (previously known as Bullock Consulting).

Tasracing is proud to announce the 10 drivers invited to compete in this year’s series are; Charlie Castles, Lachlan Dakin, Brodie Davis, Jacob Duggan, Andrew Freeman, Malcolm Jones, Jack Watson, Olivia Weidenbach, Kayleb Williams and Ben Woodsford.

The four heats programmed range between 50 to 79, and are ratings exempt, an added bonus that will be appreciated by trainers and owners that support the series.

The 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge has been Tasmania’s premier junior drivers’ series since it was introduced to the calendar in 1986 when dead heated by Richard Housego and Leigh Dornauf, with many of the state’s most respected names appearing on the honour roll since.

Recent 6ty° Youngbloods Challenge winners include; 2022 Mitch Ford, 2021 Bronte Miller, 2020 Sam Clotworthy, 2019 Taylor Ford, 2018 (Nov) Conor Crook and 2018 (June) Brady Woods.

Sunday night’s Launceston meeting also sees the running of the Tassie Golden Apple (Group 3), Globe Derby (Group 3), Bandbox (Group 3), Golden Slipper, Golden Girls and the Brian Davidson Memorial Trainers Encouragement Pace.

Nominations for the meeting close at 9:30 am on Tuesday.